Habits: May Challenge

I’ve always heard if “Mama ain’t happy, nobody is happy.”

But I shrugged it off.

I didn’t want to think that could possibly be true.

Could a mother hold that much weight for the emotions in the family.  If so, isn’t that too much to handle?   Why?!?

I’ve been a mother for 6 years and 7 months, almost 8 months. I should have, could have finally know by now that this statement isn’t just a myth.

When I’m grumpy mom. A can’t see anything right in the world. Why are my children always fighting mom, I realize it’s all on me.  That instead of looking for good I’m looking for bad.  And it always comes down to self-neglect.

I know.   NEGLECT.

Definition of NEGLECT

1: to give little attention or respect to : disregard
2: to leave undone or unattended to especially through carelessness           (from: www.merriam-webster.com/)

 

Yes, I think I give little attention to myself in ways that matter.

I don’t neglect Facebook or Pinterest or Instagram.   (Btw, my Instagram name is FitChristyThomas.  I like that media the best!)

I don’t neglect wasting time on the useless.  I lavish time there.  I prioritized those things that made me feel like I fit in better.

But those things don’t feed my soul.

I lavished my time on that which would let me blend into the world, because I was intimidated by what might just happen if I did the things I dreamed about.

So here’s the challenge.

(I’ve already started it, I’m on day 2.)

  1.  Go to bed at 10:30
  2. Meditate, just sit and breathe for five minutes a day.
  3. Spend 30 minutes reading or watching a pod-cast of something uplifting.

Now, here’s the call to action. 🙂

Do you want to join me? What three things can you do–simple things that would change you?

Make May a month to refresh;  how about  a month of Mother’s Day Gifts to yourself!

One thought on “Habits: May Challenge

  1. Three things…..three things…..hmmmmm………..goodness. SO hard to think of just THREE!!!! I will start with a good number one having to do with yours and work to something seemingly unattainable:
    1) Be in bed before midnight 6 out of 7 nights.
    2) Stop snapping angrily at my children (in order that my words: “Stop snapping at your brothers and sisters in anger!” will actually mean something to my kids who keep doing it, too!)
    3) Keep things cleaner so we do less “big unruly” cleaning – meaning the laundry,too!

Leave a Reply

